Ninja: The Final Duel

Filmofile
Apr 13, 2020

Buddha predicted that his teachings would be misinterpreted over the generations and devolve into nonsense. Perhaps he meant nonsense like the scene in Ninja: The Final Duel when a Shaolin Monk gets in a fight with Hare Krishna Monk. The Shaolin Monk beats the shit out of the Hare Krishna Monk and then bows as he solemnly evokes the name of Amitābha Buddha. Amitābha Buddha, you know, the guy who preached the doctrine of ahimsa, non-harming. The Hare Krishna puts up a good fight using his Tamborine as a weapon. Maybe next time you see a Krishna acolyte in the street you’ll be more respectful and take his pamphlet.

--

--

Filmofile

I have an MFA in painting and I’m an art professor but I managed to convince my school to let me teach film. My website http://www.filmofileshideout.com/